Jas 5:14 “Is anyone among you sick? Let him call for the elders of the church, and let them pray over him, anointing him with oil in the name of the Lord. 15 And the prayer of faith will save the one who is sick, and the Lord will raise him up. And if he has committed sins, he will be forgiven. 16 Therefore, confess your sins to one another and pray for one another, that you may be healed. The prayer of a righteous person has great power as it is working.” (ESV)

As I was in prayer this morning about a  prayer ministry in our county, God impressed upon me that my counterpart another prayer warrior, needed to be in prayer for our ministry also. Now I have been in conversation with my Lord many times over the years, and sometimes I don’t hear him as well as I did today. He always answers the prayers, because we are in conversation together. In other words, I don’t just pray and then walk away, I like to listen to hear what my Lord will say to me. It is interesting that we Christians like to tell God what we want, but we don’t wait to hear what God has for us.

It is a difficult thing this being in conversation, with other people as well as with God, since we seem to want to be sure that whoever we are talking with, hears what we have to say, but for some reason, we don’t want to wait for them to speak to us. I sometimes watch “The O’Reilly Factor” on Fox news at night, and I get irritated when he interrupts his guest and won’t let them speak unless it is what he wants to hear. I understand it is his show and he gets to set the rules, but to me, it is awfully rude to ask someone a question, and when they begin to work out where they want to go with the answer, they are not allowed to do so. They are in the “No-Spin Zone” as O’Reilly says. Of course if they are saying things that are not truthful or that are shaded as to the truth, I think I can probably figure that out by listening to the entire conversation.

Now, let me say, this used to be me. I knew my own truth and if you didn’t toe my line, well I wouldn’t let you speak. I was a rude and obnoxious person, then the Lord made it clear to me that I was rude and obnoxious. I try now to be the kind of person God wants me to be, sometimes I will slip, but I feel that gentle nudge in my heart that says I am slipping. I go back to listening rather than controlling the conversation. James puts it really well when he tells us that we are to confess our sins to one another and pray for one another, that we may be healed. He is not necessarily talking about physical healing, but rather soul healing. Jesus always worked to heal souls as well as bodies. I realized that when God made me think about what was being said in these healing times of Jesus. Hear this encounter:

Mar 10:51 “And Jesus said to him, “What do you want me to do for you?” And the blind man said to him, “Rabbi, let me recover my sight.” 52 And Jesus said to him, “Go your way; your faith has made you well.” And immediately he recovered his sight and followed him on the way.”

What a powerful statement, your faith has made you well. Note that the blind man who received his sight not only was physically healed but then wanted to follow Jesus. How many of these people were healed in their souls and spread the news that the Messiah had come? We don’t know since we don’t know how many people were actually healed and went on to speak of the Healer. The blind man, btw offered up a prayer of supplication,  Mar 10:47 And when he heard that it was Jesus of Nazareth, he began to cry out and say, “Jesus, Son of David, have mercy on me!”

Jesus had compassion, how often do we pray, and wait to hear what God will say to us? I’m afraid that it is not nearly as often as we should. Brethren, take time out of your busy schedule to spend time with God today, to be in conversation with the one who loves you, and wants to share your life with you. Let me know how well you do when you converse with our Heavenly Father.

God bless and keep you, this day and all days. 

 

 

