Luke 7:36-49 tells the story of Jesus being invited to the home of a Pharisee to enjoy lunch. As the recline at table, a woman comes in and stands behind Jesus, the story tells us that she is a sinner. She begins to weep and then washes his feet with her tears and dries them with her hair. She then applies first kisses to his feet and then anoints them with fragrant oils.
The Pharisee knows her and thinks to himself that if Jesus knew who she was, he would not allow her ministrations. Jesus tells the Pharisee a short parable, about two men who owed two sums of money, one greater than the other. Their debts are forgiven by the man they owe the money to.
“40 And Jesus answered and said to him, “Simon, I have something to say to you.”

So he said, “Teacher, say it.”

41 “There was a certain creditor who had two debtors. One owed five hundred denarii, and the other fifty. 42 And when they had nothing with which to repay, he freely forgave them both. Tell Me, therefore, which of them will love him more?”

43 Simon answered and said, “I suppose the one whom he forgave more.””

Jesus replies, that Simon has answered rightly. Then looks to the woman and says to Simon, you did not offer me water for my feet, yet this woman has washed them with her tears, dried them with her hair and anointed my feet with perfumed oil. You did not offer me oil either. He then proceeds to forgive the woman her sins, because she loved enough to minister to his needs.

Sin, scars our souls, scars our lives, and leaves us in pain while forgiveness heals that pain, and begins to change those scars into beauty. I was a smoker for many years, it scarred my lungs and gave me the gift of emphysema. At times it is difficult to breathe, yet I know that God is healing that sin from my life. I will not get worse for God helped me to quit smoking in 1994. My lungs will not be the beautiful thing they could be because I harmed them, yet, they will continue to function, because I no longer am hurting them, and with God helping they will continue to heal. Life’s Scars are the evidence of the things we have done in life that were harmful to ourselves.

But God can and will heal those scars and make them be for us a thing of beauty which reminds us of sin forgiven. We still will struggle with sin in our lives, but with Christ as our companion and the Holy Spirit working in our soul, we will better be able to resist the wiles of Satan, and continue down the narrow road toward eternity in Heaven with our Lord.

Have you experienced that healing presence? What is your story? Have you begun to journey with Jesus?

